Legislative Resources

The New Hampshire Sustainable Energy Association makes it a priority to advocate in NH for policies and legislation that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency.  But we can’t do it alone.  It is important that you contact your elected officials to let them know legislation that supports clean energy is vital to NH's well being. Please use the following tools to learn more about what is happening with energy issues in the NH state legislature and how you can be effective there. 

The NH legislature and legislative process is available to each and every citizen and business.  Here is a visual resource that maps the NH legislative process, created by the Northern Forest Center, in order to help get those that may be new to the process oriented and better positioned for productive engagement. The legislative session runs from January through June of each year.  There are always some study committees meeting in the summer and fall as well.

Most meetings are held in the Legislative Office Building (click here for directions).  The public can attend any meeting but can only speak at the public hearing that begins the process.  You can also observe a committee’s work sessions and the executive sessions (when they vote on a bill) but cannot speak unless the committee wants to ask you a question. 

Knowing who the House and Senate committee members that primarily hear bills relating to energy policy and programming is important.  The two tables below show the membership of each committee for the 2017 legislative season. 


Who’s my legislator?

Start here to track the progress of current bills or research bills from past legislative sessions.  To follow the progress of a bill, click on “Bill Docket” on the left.  This tool will tell you what committee is hearing the bill, when the next meeting is, where it will be held, and any votes that have been taken in committee or on the floor. 

The 2017 Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee:

Senator Town    Phone  Email 
Kevin Avard, Chairman           Nashua  603-271-4151  Kevin.Avard@leg.state.nh.us
Jeb Bradley, Vice Chairman Wolfeboro  603-271-2609  jeb.bradley@leg.state.nh.us
Dan Innis New Castle  603-271-3077  Dan.Innis@leg.state.nh.us
Martha Fuller Clark Portsmouth  603-271-3076  martha.fullerclark@leg.state.nh.us
Dan Feltes Concord  603-271-3067  dan.feltes@leg.state.nh.us

Senate Energy meets in the State House, Room 103.

The Senate President is Chuck Morse (Salem) and the Minority Leader is Jeff Woodburn (Dalton). 

The 2017 House Science, Technology, and Energy Committee:

Representative Town Phone Email
Richard Barry, Chairman Merrimack 603-880-3731 richard.barry@leg.state.nh.us
Herb Richardson, Vice Chairman Lancaster 603-788-2442 honhdr@yahoo.com  
Keith Ammon New Boston 603-296-9879 Keith.Ammon@leg.state.nh.us
Bill Kuch Bow 603-856-0957 Bill.Kuch@leg.state.nh.us
Bob Backus Manchester 603-668-7272 robert.backus@leg.state.nh.us
Gregory Smith Pelham 603-635-3835 gregory.smith@leg.state.nh.us
Jacqueline Cali-Pitts Portsmouth 603-431-7657 cali0917@aol.com
William Polewarczyk Chester 603-887-6297  
Lee Oxenham Plainfield 603-727-9368 Lee.Oxenham@leg.state.nh.us
Suzanne Harvey Nashua 603-598-0582 Suzanne.Harvey@leg.state.nh.us
Peter Somssich Portsmouth 603-436-5221   
Jeanine Notter Merrimack 603-423-0408 jeanine.notter@leg.state.nh.us 
John Mann Alstead 603-463-9990 john.mann@leg.state.nh.us
David Murotake Nashua 603-321-6536 david.murotake@leg.state.nh.us
Douglas Thomas Londonderry 603-490-3226 doug.thomasnh@gmail.com
Kenneth Vincent Somersworth   KVincentNHrep@comcast.net
Howard Moffett Canterbury 603-783-4993 howard.moffett@leg.state.nh.us
Glen Aldrich Gilford  603-527-8726 glenaldrich@gmail.com 
Marjorie Shepardson Marlborough 603-762-1058 marge.shepardson@gmail.com

Herbert Vadney

Michael Vose







The STE Committee meets in the Legislative Office Building, Room 304. 

The Speaker of the House is Shawn Jasper (Hudson) and the Majority leader is Dick Hinch (Merrimack). They can be reached at 603-271-3661.


Other Senate Standing Committees can be found here

Other House Standing Committees can be found here


Executive Branch: Governor Christopher T. Sununu 

Phone: 603-271-2121



New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission-Information on state incentives for renewable energy systems, applications for net metering, and for setting up solar or wind and other energy systems can be found here

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer